What should I expect after filing the notice of claim?
We will send letters to the employer and the injured worker confirming receipt of the claim. The employer’s letter will include a request for wage documentation for the employer to complete and return. The injured worker’s letter will include a request for additional claim related information as well as medical records release authorizations to sign and return.
If the claim involves lost time from work, the Claim Professional assigned to handle the claim will be in contact with the employer and the injured worker within one business day of claim assignment. The purpose of this contact is to confirm the information provided on the initial notice of claim, gather additional information, and explain the claims process as well as the benefits available.
What is workers' compensation?
Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides medical and wage loss benefits for people who are injured as a result of their work. Essentially all employers are required to have workers’ compensation insurance available for the benefit of their employees.
What should I do when a work injury occurs?
First, ensure the injured worker receives timely and appropriate medical care. That may include rendering first aid, helping the injured worker locate a clinic, and/or calling 9-1-1.
Then collect information regarding the accident and submit a workers’ compensation claim to us as soon as possible.
Should I file a workers' compensation claim?
You should file a claim if your employee sustained an injury related to their work that requires care by a medical professional or may require medical care in the future.
Employers are required by law to report a claim when requested by an injured worker even if the employer does not believe the claim is legitimate. Filing a claim is not an admission of liability. If you don’t believe a claim is legitimate, please report it to us and share your concerns with the staff assigned to investigate the claim.
When is the notice of claim due?
Notify us as soon as possible, ideally within 24 hours, and no later than 10 days after you receive notice of the injury.
State regulators may assess fines for late reporting of claims. You will be responsible for these fines if the late reporting is your fault.
Fatal or severe (in-patient hospitalization, amputation, eye loss) claims must be reported to us within 24 hours of the employer’s notice.
Additionally, employers must separately notify governmental regulators of such claims as noted below.
Minnesota: Report fatal injuries within eight hours of notice and all injuries involving inpatient hospitalization, amputations, and eye-loss within 24 hours to Minnesota Occupational Safety and Health (MN OSHA) via phone at 651-284-5050or 877-470-6742.
Massachusetts: Fatal claims must be reported to the Occupational Health Surveillance Program hotline at 800-338-5223 or by confidential fax to 617-624-5696
Georgia: Report fatal claims within 8 hours or severe claims (in-patient hospitalization, amputation, eye loss) within 24 hours to the nearest OSHA office or via OSHA’s 24-hour hotline (800-321-6742).